Faith in Fate

“Like a river flows so surely to the sea, darling so it goes some things are meant to be”

FATE

I am a true believer in fate. I believe that our futures are written in the stars, and that there is some big grand, marvelous plan out there devised and molded for each and every one of us. Things are meant to happen for a reason. Why? Because there is a bigger purpose behind everything, and whether we know what that purpose is or not, there is always some kind of meaning dug deep under everything we do. In my mind, coincidence does not exist. Things don’t just happen “just because”, because if coincidence existed, if coincidence was real, that would imply that there is no deeper intention behind our actions. And there is always an intention, always a reasoning, behind everything we do, big or small, significant or minuscule, known or unknown. Sometimes we are scared of making the wrong decision, of going to down the wrong path of life, but in hindsight, when you look back on those moments of unknowing, you understand that those moments and doubts lead you to this very second; this moment in time that only happened because those things you went through and those feelings that you had happened for a reason.

I believe that the people we meet, the jobs we have, the friends we make, the places we travel to, they all have a purpose in the big scheme of things. Think of that one person that you have met that opened up doors you didn’t know existed. Think of the all the other people you met through that one friend, think of all the things you did and the things you experienced because of that friend. Were you introduced to a new passion in life that you hadn’t discovered until that moment? Maybe you did something you would never have done before because that person pushed you to do it and encouraged you in ways no one else ever had.

In my own life, and through my own friends, I rediscovered my passion for writing because I had a friend that had a blog and encouraged me to do it (hi Christina!); through a guy I knew that lived in Chicago, I discovered my love for the city known for their once a year green river; through a PR professional I met in college, I found what would eventually be my career path; and through my boyfriend and best friends, I experienced just how fun country concerts in the summer are. While I do talk to most of those people still, they, and many many more, have impacted my life in ways that are, in the truest sense, everlasting.

I talk about all of this, all of this “everything happens for a reason” mumbo jumbo, because I am experiencing something right now that I can only hope is meant to be. It’s not something I saw in my future, and it certainly doesn’t define me or what I want, but I can only wish that for right now, for this time being, I am right where I am supposed to be. I recently passed up something that others thought was my “meant to be”, but I knew in my heart that the timing just wasn’t right, that it really wasn’t what I wanted but rather just seemed like the best option at that time. It has been a roller coaster of a ride trying to figure out what it is exactly that I want, and for those that know me, they know just how indecisive a person I am, but pushing aside all of the unknowing in my life, there is one thing I know for certain. I have full faith in my fate.

I have no idea what my “dream job” would be, I have no clue as to where I want to live (problem: I have a tendency to fall in love with every city I go to) , and I can hardly figure out what being a “young professional” means. I change my mind about what I want to do with my life about 27 times a day, and I am constantly searching and looking for a sign that will just point me in the right direction.

But all of that really doesn’t matter. The worrying, the fretting, the anxiety over everything is just plain silly. And more than that, it’s exhausting. You can’t live your life creating these hypothetical scenarios of every different way your life might turn out (I am SO guilty of this). Do yourself a favor. Trust that right now, wherever you may be, that you only have GREAT things ahead of you. Everything leading up to this moment was made to happen, and everything building up to your future is already there…it’s just waiting for you to find it.

Photo Credit: http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/photography

3 thoughts on “Faith in Fate

    • Believe me when I say that it hasn’t been easy trying to keep up with that mentality…it’s actually a job in itself. But it always seems to get me through tough times, especially when I’m unsure about which direction I want my life to go in. Thank you for your feedback as well!!

  1. I know what you mean that having faith can help and allow us to feel the bigger picture etc…and I actually love it when i think that way and life seems so much more meaningful and real. However I get the feeling that I’m taking the shortcut and giving up my logical brain in order to comfort myself…

Leave a comment